Regional Fishery Management Councils

The objectives of the eight Regional Fishery Management Councils are to prepare, monitor and revise fishery management plans and data collection programs for domestic and foreign fishing within the 200-mile U.S.

Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ).

This is done with approval and implementation
by the Secretary of Commerce who has stewardship responsibility for living marine resources in the EEZ under the MSFCMA.

Agency - Department of Commerce

The Department of Commerce fosters and promotes the nation's economic development and technological advancement through vigilance in international trade policy, domestic business policy and growth, and promoting economic progress at all levels.

Office - Alaska: Alaska Regional Office, Barbara Fosburg, NMFS, P.O.

Box 12668, Juneau, AK 99802-1668.

Telephone: (907) 586-7273.

Use the same numbers for FTS.


Northeast: Harold C.

Mears, State, Federal and Constituent Programs Office; Northeast Region, One Blackburn Drive, Gloucester, MA 01930-2298.

Telephone: (978) 281-9243.

Fax: (978) 281- 9117.


Northwest Regional Office, Kevin Ford or Stehpen Freese, 7600 Sand Point Way, NE, Seattle, WA 98115-6349 Telephone: (206) 526-6115 or 6113).

Email or

Pacific Islands Region: Scott Bloom or Dan Namur, Federal Program Officer, 1601 Kapiolani Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96814-4700.

Telephone: (808) 973-2941.

Email: or

Southeast: Cynthia Binkley, Federal Program Officer, State/Federal Liaison Branch, 263 13 Ave.

South, St.

Petersburg, FL 33701 Telephone: (727) 824-5324..

Fax: (727) 824-5364 Email:

Southwest: Patricia Culver, Federal Program Officer, Southwest Region Office, 501 West Ocean Blvd., Suite 4200, Long Beach, CA 90802- 4213.

Telephone: (310) 980-4239.

Fax: (562) 980-4047.