Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Part A HIV Emergency Relief Grant Program

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program (RWHAP) Part A HIV Emergency Relief Grant Program.

The purpose of this program is to provide direct financial assistance to an eligible metropolitan area (EMA) or a transitional grant area (TGA) that

has been severely affected by the HIV epidemic.

Grant funds assist eligible jurisdictions to develop or enhance access to a comprehensive continuum of high quality, community-based care for people with HIV who are low-income through the provision of formula, supplemental, and Minority AIDS Initiative (MAI) funds.

The goal is to provide optimal HIV care and treatment for people with HIV who are low-income, uninsured, and underserved, to improve their medical outcomes.
Related Programs

HIV Emergency Relief Project Grants

Department of Health and Human Services

Relevant Nonprofit Program Categories

Obtain Full Opportunity Text:

Additional Information of Eligibility:
RWHAP Part A recipients that are classified as an EMA or as a TGA and continue to meet the status as an eligible area as defined in the statute are eligible to apply for these funds.

Eligibility for RWHAP Part A grants is based in part on the number of confirmed AIDS cases within a statutorily specified “metropolitan area.” The Secretary uses the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) census-based definitions of a Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) in determining the geographic boundaries of a RWHAP metropolitan area.

HHS utilizes the OMB geographic boundaries that were in effect when a jurisdiction was initially funded under RWHAP Part A.

For all newly eligible areas, the boundaries are based on current OMB MSA boundary definitions.

For an EMA, this is more than 2,000 cases of AIDS reported and confirmed during the most recent five calendar years, and for a TGA, this is at least 1,000, but fewer than 2,000 cases of AIDS reported and confirmed during the most recent five calendar years for which such data are available.

In addition, for three consecutive years, recipients must not have fallen below both the required incidence levels already specified, and required prevalence levels (cumulative total of living cases of AIDS reported to and confirmed by the Director of CDC, as of December 31 of the most recent calendar year for which such data are available).

For an EMA, the required prevalence is 3,000 living cases of AIDS.

For a TGA, the required prevalence is 1,500 or more living cases of AIDS.

However, for a TGA with five percent or less of the total amount from grants awarded to the area under Part A unobligated, as of the end of the most recent FY, the required prevalence is at least 1,400 (and fewer than 1,500) living cases of AIDS.

This competition is open to eligible Part A jurisdictions to provide comprehensive primary health care and support services for people with HIV who are low income, uninsured, and underserved in their service areas as listed in Appendix B.

Full Opportunity Web Address:


Agency Email Description:
Contact Chrissy Abrahms Woodland at (301)443-1373 or email cabrahms@hrsa.gov

Agency Email:

Date Posted:

Application Due Date:

Archive Date:

Where is social enterprise really headed in 2015? Heath Shackleford, founder/kick starter of Good.Must.Grow, examines the trends in the production of Fifteen for 15, a list of key trends, impact opportunities and critical challenges in store for the New Year.

Nonprofit Jobs

  Program Director Jobs
  Executive Director Jobs
  Education Jobs
  Education Jobs
  Social Work Jobs

More Federal Domestic Assistance Programs

Medicare Transitional Drug Assistance Program for States | Census Intergovernmental Services | EUR/ACE Humanitarian Assistance Program | Adoption Opportunities | Farmers" Market Promotion Program |  Site Style by YAML | Grants.gov | Grants | Grants News | Sitemap | Privacy Policy

Edited by: Michael Saunders

© 2004-2021 Copyright Michael Saunders