Earthquake Consortium

The Earthquake Hazards Reduction Act of 1977, as amended, directs the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to operate a program of grants and assistance to enable States to develop mitigation, preparedness and response plans, prepare inventories and conduct seismic safety inspection of critical
structures and lifelines, update building and zoning codes and ordinances to enhance seismic safety, increase earthquake awareness and education, and encourage the development of multi-State groups for such purposes.
Examples of Funded Projects

These multi-State groups have delivered education and training to community and State officials to develop seismic policies and share information to promote programs intended to reduce earthquake-related losses; and reduce the risk of loss of life, injuries, property losses and social and economic disruption that result from all hazards.

Agency - Department of Homeland Security

The Department of Homeland Security has three primary missions: Prevent terrorist attacks within the United States, reduce America's vulnerability to terrorism and minimize the damage from potential attacks and natural disasters.

Website Address

Program Accomplishments

These consortia contribute to FEMA's mitigation goals of reducing deaths, injuries, damage to property and economic losses resulting from earthquakes. They work directly with public, private, professional, and research agencies and organizations that ultimately implement earthquake risk reduction programs (e.g., building code administrators, urban planners, elected officials, utility professionals, etc.). The consortium serves as a bridge between the Federal NEHRP agencies, and the organizations and individuals at the State and local level that translate policies into practice.

Uses and Use Restrictions

This program is non-competitive and restricted to certain specialized/qualified organizations designated by (FEMA).

Project grants (cooperative agreements) enable the consortia to engage in earthquake mitigation activities.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicant Eligibility

Nonprofit Organizations designated by FEMA.

The program is currently restricted to the following entities and organizations: Central US Earthquake Consortium, Western States Seismic Policy Council, Northeast States Emergency Consortium, and Cascadia Region Earthquake Workgroup.

Beneficiary Eligibility

States, locals, tribes, U.S. Territories, and general public.


See 44 CFR, Part 13 for requirements. This program must follow requirements included in OMB Circulars A-110 and A-122.

Aplication and Award Process

Preapplication Coordination

This program is excluded from coverage under E.O.


Application Procedures

Application deadline and other information are contained in the application/program guidance.

Award Procedures

Applications or plans are reviewed by DHS program and administrative staff. Any issues or concerns noted in the application will be negotiated with the successful applicant prior to the award being issued.


Refer to announcement or application guidance for further information.


Earthquake Hazards Reduction Act of 1977, as amended.

Range of Approval/Disapproval Time

Refer to program guidance document.


Not applicable.


Cooperative agreements may be renewed annually, but will be awarded as new cooperative agreements.

Assistance Considerations

Formula and Matching Requirements

This program has no matching requirements.

Length and Time Phasing of Assistance

Refer to program guidance. Awards are subject to the Cash Management Improvement Act for payment and/or reimbursement of expenditures.

Post Assistance Requirements


Grantees are required to submit quarterly financial and performance reports.

Quarterly Progress Reports must include the progress of each sub-grant award.

Reports are due 30 days after the end of each quarter: January 30, April 30, July 30, and October 30.

Final financial and performance reports are due 90 days after the expiration or termination of grant award.


In accordance with the provisions of OMB Circular A-133 (Revised, June 27, 2003), "Audits of States, Local Governments, and Nonprofit Organizations," nonfederal entities that expend financial assistance of $500,000 or more in Federal awards (or receive property, or a combination of both, within the fiscal year) will have a single or a program-specific audit conducted for that year. Nonfederal entities that expend less than $500,000 a year in Federal awards are exempt from Federal audit requirements for that year, except as noted in Circular A-133. These audits are due to the cognizant Federal agency, submitted through the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, not later than 9 months after the end of the grantees fiscal year.


Grant records shall be retained for a period of 3 years from the day the recipient submits its final expenditure report. If any litigation, claim, negotiation, audit, or other action involving the records has been started before the expiration of the 3-year period, the records must be retained until completion of the action and resolution of all issues which arise from it, or until the end of the regular 3-year period, whichever is later. Grant records include financial and program/progress reports, support documents, statistical records, and other documents that support the activity and/or expenditure of the recipient or sub-recipient under the award.

Financial Information

Account Identification



(Cooperative Agreements) FY 07 $925,000; FY 08 est not available; and FY 09 est not available.

Range and Average of Financial Assistance

Refer to program guidance.

Regulations, Guidelines, and Literature

44 CFR, Part 361, National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Assistance to State and Local Governments and annual memorandum guidance issued by the FEMA Federal Insurance and Mitigation Directorate.

Information Contacts

Regional or Local Office

Not applicable.

Headquarters Office

Department of Homeland Security, 245 Murray Lane SW, Bldg 410 Washington DC, 20528.

Criteria for Selecting Proposals

Not applicable.

Where is social enterprise really headed in 2015? Heath Shackleford, founder/kick starter of Good.Must.Grow, examines the trends in the production of Fifteen for 15, a list of key trends, impact opportunities and critical challenges in store for the New Year.

Social Sector Jobs

  Social Work Jobs
  Education Jobs
  Social Services Employment
  Executive Director Jobs
  Education Jobs

More Federal Domestic Assistance Programs

Smart Prosecution Initiative | Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program | Water Protection Grants to the States | Broadband Initiatives Program | Promotion of the Humanities_Research |  Site Style by YAML | | Grants | Grants News | Sitemap | Privacy Policy

Edited by: Michael Saunders

© 2004-2021 Copyright Michael Saunders